To create a partition
or volume
(the two terms are often used interchangeably) on a hard disk, you must be
logged in as an administrator, and there must be either unallocated
disk space or free space within an extended
partition on the hard disk.
If there is no unallocated disk space, you can create some by
shrinking an existing partition, deleting a partition, or by using a third-party
partitioning program. For more information, see Can I
repartition my hard disk?
For information about reformatting a hard disk, see Formatting
disks and drives: frequently asked questions.

To create and format a new partition
(volume)
-

Click to open Computer Management.
If you are
prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or
provide confirmation.
-
In the left pane, under Storage, click Disk Management.
-
Right-click an unallocated region on your hard disk, and then
click New Simple Volume.
-
In the New Simple Volume Wizard, click Next.
-
Type the size of the volume you want to create in megabytes (MB)
or accept the maximum default size, and then click Next.
-
Accept the default drive letter or choose a different drive letter
to identify the partition, and then click Next.
-
In the Format Partition dialog box, do one
of the following:
-
If you don't want to format the volume right now, click Do not format this volume, and then click Next.
-
To format the volume with the default settings, click Next.
-
Review your choices, and then click Finish.
Note
-
When you create new partitions on a basic
disk, the first three will be formatted as primary partitions. Beginning
with the fourth, each one will be configured as a logical drive within an
extended partition.

To format an existing partition
(volume)
-

Click to open Computer Management.
If you are
prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or
provide confirmation.
-
In the left pane, under Storage, click Disk Management.
-
Right-click the volume that you want to format, and then click
Format.
-
To format the volume with the default settings, in the Format dialog box, click OK, and then
click OK again.
Notes
-
The Perform a quick format option will
create a new file table, but will not fully overwrite or erase the volume. A
quick format is much faster than a normal format,
which fully erases any existing data on the
volume.